jump to navigation

My iBook G4 December 11, 2008

Posted by ninelouis in เล่า - tell.
Tags: ,
trackback

Today I have just bought 2nd hand iBook G4 from the 2nd hand shop (12,900 THB), it is the 12″ 2005 model (identifies with help of wiki)

Here is the spec,

  • 1.33 GHz processor
  • 512 MB DDR SDRAM
  • 40 GB Hard drive
  • 12.1-inch screen
  • combo DVD/CD-RW drive
  • Wi-Fi (802.11g)
  • FireWire 400

I decide to buy from this seller since he claim that battery life is still good, 2 hr+

After a quick try (2 hr) , what I, a 10-year-PC-Windows-user, have a thougt on this iBook is,

Pros🙂

  • Quiet : Keyboard/Fan/Harddisk noise level is very acceptable for me. Imagine when you work in quiet place such a library, this point is a significant.
  • Screen : I think the screen is clear but soft for my eye. I just “feel”, no tool for mesuring.
  • Design : You can say you know me well if you know that i like the “Bulk”, “Retangular”, “Monochrome”, iBook hit center of my heart.
  • Ergonomics : Keyboard size and size of each key is quite fit to my hand and fingers, also have a rest area for my wristle.
  • Slot loading optical drive : I love it !

Cons😦

  • Adapter cable is short : Compare to my previous eeePC  first model, measure with my eye, it is < 2m, which is almost half of eePC’s cable.
  • Heavy : Weight is another important factor when you buy laptop, iBook is ~ 2.2 kg (eeePC is just ~ 1 kg!) yes, we shall not complaing this – but it is a truth you will get tired easily if carry a 2-kg-brick all day !
  • Dirt : It get dirt easily esp. on the wrist-rest-area, also the white finish seems like it will be turned into yellow-white pretty easily and soon.
  • Thick : Not slim like MacBook (uh?)

I think that’s all for my first day, will update it again when i have used it more.

P.S. this is the first post made on iBook !!😛

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

